Were you injured in an car accident in Charlotte caused by someone’s recklessness? The attorneys at DeMayo Law Offices will skillfully and aggressively pursue compensation on your behalf. We’ve successfully represented thousands of car accident victims, and when you work with us, you can feel confident that your case is in the best possible hands.
The harm that a car wreck inflicts can be far-reaching and long-term, especially if there were severe injuries involved. When you’re the victim of a car accident, it’s not just your physical health that’s at risk. You may also suffer long-term emotional trauma and financial strain.
Being the victim of another person’s careless actions can feel overwhelming and infuriating, but you can count on the Charlotte personal injury attorneys at DeMayo Law Offices. to assert your rights. We stand up to intimidating insurance companies to ensure that they treat you fairly and award you the maximum settlement available.
The Charlotte car accident attorneys from DeMayo Law Offices have the dedication and experience to get the results our clients need and deserve. To find out more about how we can help you, call us at (877) 529-1222 to schedule a free consultation with one of our Charlotte car accident attorneys.
Types of Car Accidents We Handle
DeMayo Law Offices can handle many types of car accident claims, including but not limited to:
- Accident with an underinsured/uninsured driver
- Car/mechanical defects
- Distracted driving/texting while driving
- Drugged driver
- Drunk driver accidents
- Hit and run accidents
- Rear-end collisions
- Road defects
- Speeding accidents
Car Accident Laws in North Carolina
Whether you’re a resident or visitor, you need to know about some laws in North Carolina if you’re the victim of an car accident.
Liability car insurance limits: All North Carolina drivers have a legal requirement to carry car insurance with a minimum of $30,000 in bodily injury and $25,000 in property damage.
Contributory negligence rule: This doctrine prohibits injured parties from collecting financial compensation from the liable party if they share any amount of fault for the crash.
Statute of limitations: Under North Carolina law, injured individuals have to file a lawsuit within three years from the car accident date.
Wrongful death claim: If a vehicle accident results in someone dying, the statute of limitations for filing a wrongful death lawsuit is two years.
Defining Bodily Injury and Property Damage
When another party is responsible for the car accident, you’re entitled to pursue compensation for damages from the other driver’s liability car insurance. There’s coverage listed for both bodily injury and property damage, and you’re allowed to request up to the limit listed on the policy.
If you choose to file a property damage claim, you can potentially receive compensation for the following:
- Depreciation in your vehicle’s value
- Repair costs
- If your car is a total loss, its fair market value
- Loss of use of the vehicle
- Equipment or tools damaged in the crash
- Cell phone or other types of electronic devices
- Additional personal property in the car at the time of the accident
If you file a bodily injury claim, you’re allowed to ask for compensation for the injuries and losses the accident caused, such as:
- Lost wages and lost future earnings
- Past and future medical bills
- Prescription medications
- Pain and suffering
The term pain and suffering includes a wide range of conditions, such as:
- Physical pain
- Emotional or mental injury
- Depression, anxiety, PTSD
- Inconveniences and the negative impact the crash had on your daily life, such as canceling vacation or missing time with family
What You Do After an Accident Can Affect the Outcome of Your Case
If you get hurt, there are some steps you need to take immediately following the accident to ensure you can prove liability in an insurance claim and recover the compensation you need.
Step 1: Go to a safe area and call 911. If you’re able to move around, you should walk to the side of the road, so you’re out of harm’s way. Even if you only have minor injuries, you should still wait for law enforcement to show up to the scene and perform an investigation into the crash. A police report is useful in an insurance claim for determining fault.
Step 2: Again, if you’re able to move around, take photos of the accident site, including the position of the vehicles after the collision, skid marks, street signs, debris in the road, and vehicle damage. Also, take pictures of any visible injuries to your body.
Step 3: Speak to witnesses who saw the accident occur and write down their names and phone numbers. You can use their witness testimony down the road to prove the other driver was at fault.
Step 4: Get information from the at-fault motorist, including:
- Their name and contact information
- Make, model, year, and color of their car
- License plate number
- Driver’s license number
- Car insurance carrier and policy number
Step 5: Get treatment, even if you think your injury is minor. Many times, the shock of a crash can initially diminish the severity of someone’s injuries. It might take a few days to feel the full effect of the crash. Seeking medical attention right away can help show the insurance company that your injuries stemmed from the accident.
Step 6: Recall as much information about the accident as possible. Write down the events leading up to it and what you believe caused it.
Step 7: Keep copies of everything, such as medical records, letters from the insurance company, and additional documentation related to the crash.
Step 8: Hire a Charlotte car accident attorney from DeMayo Law Offices. They will contact the insurance companies on your behalf. Insurance claims are complex. You need someone experienced to help you through it.
Things You Should Avoid Doing After a Crash
All of the steps above are crucial after sustaining an injury in a car accident; however, it’s equally important to avoid doing some things.
Don’t admit fault. It’s best that your attorney speaks to the insurance companies on your behalf, but if you do need to talk to an insurance adjuster, it’s important that you don’t tell them, or anyone else, that you contributed to the accident. If contributory negligence exists, you could end up missing out on receiving any compensation.
Don’t agree to give a recorded statement to the at-fault driver’s insurance company. It’s not a legal requirement. Only the policyholder must do so. If your own insurance carrier requests a recorded statement, you will have to give one, but be sure to consult with a Charlotte car accident attorney first to ensure you don’t say the wrong thing.
Don’t withhold medical insurance information from your doctors. A majority of liability insurance claims take time, and if you haven’t given any of your medical providers a payment method, they could end up sending your bills to collections. Ultimately, if the car insurance company decides to compensate you for your treatment, you can submit the bills your medical insurance paid for reimbursement.
Don’t sign anything unless your attorney says it’s okay. Insurance companies don’t care about claimants. They only care about saving money by trying to find ways to deny a claim or provide a low settlement. If you sign any documents without knowing what they are, you could end up signing away your rights to the maximum settlement available. Give all forms you receive from the insurance adjuster to your Charlotte car accident lawyer to review first.
Dedicated to Helping Our Clients Recover
At DeMayo Law Offices, we understand the heavy toll a serious car accident can take on your well-being. The physical pain and emotional trauma you’re experiencing can affect every area of your life. You might not be able to work and worry about supporting your family. If your injuries are permanent, you might wonder what your future will look like. It’s a devastating situation. You deserve a financial award for your losses, and we will help you pursue it.
Since you already incurred enough expenses, we won’t add any additional costs to your plate. Our Charlotte car accident attorneys work on a contingency-fee-basis. That means there are no legal fees unless we recover a settlement or favorable jury verdict. If we don’t win your case, you won’t owe us anything.
We also offer a free initial consultation. There will be no risk or obligation to speak with us about your car accident and receive legal advice. We’re happy to meet with you to review your case and determine if it’s something we can help you pursue.
Why Choose DeMayo Law Offices
At DeMayo Law Offices, we have over 150 years of combined experience in the practice of law. We represent clients just like you, and we’ll fight tenaciously for justice in your case. We use aggressive tactics to settle car accident claims before they get taken to trial. For those that we’re unable to resolve, our Charlotte personal injury lawyers have the knowledge and skillset to file a lawsuit and advocate for our clients in court.
You should work with a law firm that cares about you and the outcome of your case. Our legal team will treat you with respect and always be available to assist you. You will be a priority to us, and we’ll be sure to treat you as such.
Call us at (877) 529-1222 today if you or a loved one were the victim of a car accident in Charlotte, and we’ll let you know how we can pursue the financial compensation you need to get you back on your feet.
Provide your information below and we'll contact you.
Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in this form. This form sends information by non-encrypted email which is not secure. Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship.